FedEx/Kinko’s Coming to Adams Morgan

kinkoskoming.jpg

The “Coming Soon” sign went up within the past 24 hours on the curved building that sits at the intersection of 18th, Columbia and Adams Mill. That building, incidentally, is about 100 steps from my front door. For a second I thought, “Kinko’s? ENNNNCHHH.” I’d been hoping for something cool or quaint and Kinko’s—although stocked with a wealth of lovely balloon- or puppy-bordered printer paper and only slightly ridiculously overpriced office supplies—counts as neither.

Then I remembered that I’m getting married this year and that in the next few months I’ll have to mail out 120 save-the-date cards, 120 invitations, and get a garbage load of useless paper favor cards, menus, and such printed. So really at least for the next 10 months I’m thinking, “Kinko’s? Hells yeah! Bring on the complete corporate whoring of one of D.C.’s last largely indie-ruled neighborhoods!”

*Travel tip: If you’ve never payed attention while walking past that building, stop at the center set of front doors and look up the stairwell. There’s a beautiful big stained glass window at the top of the stairs dividing the commercial spaces. Be sure to peek at it now, as I’m assuming that window will be demolished when the Banana Republic or California Tortilla makes its inevitable arrival.

27 Responses to “FedEx/Kinko’s Coming to Adams Morgan”

  1. K Says:

    Didn’t Daisy used to be in there at one point? I loved that store. And All About Jane. Ah, my very first designer denim purchase… the beginning of the end…

    Never saw the stained glass window, though. Thanks for the tip!

  2. I-66 Says:

    California Tortilla? I’m aiming for a KFC/Pizza Hut/Taco bell all-in-one. They’re not just for highway rest stops anymore.

  3. rcr Says:

    We got one in Columbia Heights first. So thbtbtbtbtbt!

  4. Bridal Bird Says:

    K–Those pre-dated me. The only thing I’ve ever known in there is a neat but crazy overpriced antique store.

    I-66–Done and done, just up the street on Columbia I believe.

    RCR–Look, we in Adams Morgan have been looking for a reason to declare war on Columbia Heights. This, coupled with the poaching of Sticky Fingers, could be just the ticket.

  5. I-66 Says:

    You frequent it, I imagine.

  6. Bridal Bird Says:

    Can’t get enough of the crunchy fried stuffed crust pizza Gorditas.

    (Ick. I got nauseated just writing that sentence.)

  7. trybritri Says:

    They’re killing the ole neighborhood =( though, i do love me some caltort

  8. Lonnie Bruner Says:

    “indie-ruled neighborhoods”

    Well, except for the Starbucks and Blockbuster next door. Oh, and the Subway and McDonald’s across the street. Oh yea, and there’s that Exxon on the other side, plus the Up Against the Wall, Popeye’s and Safeway less than one block up the street.

    But otherwise, totally an indie-ruled neighborhood…

  9. Hammer Says:

    Why stop at invitations and such? Methinks you’ve potentialy found an alternate reception venue. Lots of counter space for a buffet-style meal. Plenty of computers to keep the blogger guests happy. Hell, move a couple of the office supply racks around and you’ve got a dance floor. And the possibilities for drunken buttocks photocopying? Absolutely limitless.

  10. Laughing Says:

    Lonnie Bruner is right on. Who are you people kidding?

  11. Bridal Bird Says:

    Lonnie–Nice selective quoting, sugarbuns. I specifically said “largely indie-ruled neighborhoods.” Of course those chains are there, but I’d be willing to bet that if you marked off the stretch from Columbia and 16th down to the intersection of Florida and U that there are more independently owned businesses than any other neighborhood in D.C. Prove me wrong.

    Hammer–Sounds like someone wants to get in the wedding planning business…

    Laughing–see also, response to Lonnie.

  12. Lonnie Bruner Says:

    You gotta get out and see more of your city, sugarbuns.

  13. Bridal Bird Says:

    I’m not aware of a neighborhood called “You gotta get out and see more of your city, sugarbuns.” Is that outside of Northwest? I don’t leave Northwest.

  14. Johanna Says:

    I don’t like you calling my bird, “sugarbuns,” Mssr. cinnamon tits.

  15. Tired of yuppies Says:

    “I don’t leave Northwest.” Is that something to be proud of? To answer your question, We have a Mcdonalds, Rite-Aid, 7-Eleven, Foot Locker, DTLR, Pizza Bolis, and coming soon, a very indie Target. Get over yourself. A little Fed-Ex/Kinkos, an anchor for small businesses to grow in Adam’s Morgan, will not kill you. We won’t need yet another bar/restaurant/yuppie hangout in Adams Morgan for quite a while.

  16. Bridal Bird Says:

    (sighing and rubbing temples)
    Tired of Yuppies, it’s called sarcasm, lambchop. (By the way, in the preceding sentence I’m not saying that you’re actually a cut of meat from a lamb.)
    Let’s take a look at your other points:
    1. I’m not sure to whom your “we” refers because that Target is in Columbia Heights, not Adams Morgan, so thanks for playing on that one.
    2. When exactly did FedEx/Kinko’s become a bastion of anti-yuppie sentiment? I’m fairly sure that any place where you can buy a coffee mug, mousepad, or calendar with a picture of little Ashton at French camp on it can easily be found under “Yuppie Merch” in the phone book.
    3. The lovely FedEx/Kinko’s that will help “small businesses to grow in Adam’s [sic] Morgan grow” is taking over a space formerly occupied by a small business.
    4. Since you’re not the only one who seems to have a bit of a reading comprehension issue today, I’ll point out explicity: at no point in the original post did I say that there aren’t corporate businesses in Adams Morgan.
    5. And finally, “Get over yourself,” is the last refuge of the feckless commenter. Use your substance next time, dear.

  17. Lonnie Bruner Says:

    Just walked up Columbia Road to pick up a prescription at CVS. Noticed a few more to add to the list:

    Radio Shack, PNC Bank, Burger King, Pizza Hut, BBT Bank, Sun Trust Bank, Pizza Bolis, CVS, Payless Shoes, Footaction … (aforementioned –>) Blockbuster, Starbucks, McDonald’s, Subway, Exxon, Up Against the Wall, Popeye’s, Safeway, and Fedex Kinko’s.

    Anyway, I’m not out to hate on Adams Morgan. I’ve lived here for eight years but will be moving (thank christ) end of February. As for other places with indie-owned places, try visiting H St NE, large swaths of Georgia Avenue, 14th Street in 16th Street Heights, U St, all of Mt. Pleasant Street, and basically any place except Georgetown and Adams Morgan. There.

    Living here for 8 years, I do notice that people have an oddly high opinion of AM despite the fact that it’s basically a bar-heavy strip mall without parking lots.

    Sorry, just venting. More here.

  18. Bridal Bird Says:

    Oooh, I’ve spurred you to action! Color me impressed (with myself.) Good luck with the move. Don’t let the CVS door hit you on the way out…heh heh… Incidentally, you’ve spurred me to action: I’m mulling a neighborhood commerce survey, potentially for a freelance piece. We’ll settle once and for all who’s got more independent businesses. As for my oddly high opinion of Adams Morgan: I’m a homeowner here. I live on a tree-lined street that I think is beautiful in a 1920s co-op that I love more than someone should love an inanimate mass of bricks and plaster. So I’m content with my situation here. Sure I loathe the Tom Tom/Jumbo Slice d’bags as much as the next person, but this is my home and all things considered, I’m happy to call it that. I hope you find the happiness in your new digs that eluded you down here.

  19. Hammer Says:

    I think what’s most distressing about this entire exchange is the fact that I’ve been coming here since day one – DAY ONE – and not once have you ever called me “sugarbuns.” And yet Lonnie gets sugarbunned on his first visit?!

    Floozy.

  20. Bridal Bird Says:

    Oh you know I’ve got a soft spot for the feisty ones, my little lotus blossom.

  21. Lonnie Bruner Says:

    BB,

    Sounds like you’ve got a nice place. My (rental) apartment is located on the main path back to the Metro from the bars. I’ve lived in a basement just a few doors down (eastward) from Mama Ayesha’s for all that time so we get the brunt of all the drunk parade.

    But I swear from about 2000-2003 it wasn’t as bad as it’s been in the past few years. I have no idea why. I do love many aspects of the neighborhood and I’m sure I will miss it when I’m gone.

    Farewell.

  22. Kinko Poo poo Says:

    Oh wonderful! Great costumer service on the way. Remember the Dave Chappelle skit? “My butt itches – but I took a shower…Can I help you????”

  23. Odds and Ends « Bridal Bird Says:

    [...] a freshly opened bottle of wine back there with the cookies. Plus I fear this will pave the way for yet another chain. According to a sign that went up last night, Miss Pixie is sashaying down to 14th Street with the [...]

  24. Leslie in Adams Morgan Says:

    I found this site because I was searching around trying to find out why pixie is leaving. I’m crushed. Outside of restaurants, there’s very little left in adams morgan I can’t find just as easily somewhere else … assuming I wanted to go to one of the aforementioned places.

    I’m going to have to change my name to Leslie in Some Other Hood.

  25. ee Says:

    yeah, but the James Bond Film Festival is coming to NoMA – Florida and New York on May 8…

  26. jack Says:

    wen is my mail coming

  27. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

