Why the Bridal Industry Hates Us Fridays

There are two types of bride: the one who opens the daily email from theknot.com merchandise shop and coos, and the one who opens it and utters the following: “Snerk.” “Oh for God’s sake.” “No. Just, no.” Every Friday I’ll be featuring the thing that made me do one of those at the highest decibel in my encounters with the bridal industry that week. I fear that there’s enough material out there to last me through at least two of my marriages. First up:

Item: Photo Glass Coaster Favors

coaster.jpg

Price: $1.95 for two

Why: Because there’s nothing that warms my heart more than the thought of my guests heading back home and in the weeks after the wedding, setting down a frosty Miller Lite on my face.

5 Responses to “Why the Bridal Industry Hates Us Fridays”

  1. I-66 Says:

    Oh please. I personally would set nothing less than a Smithwick’s on your face.

    (I thought about saying Hoegaarden there, but for reasons that should be obvious I decided against it.)

  2. Bridal Bird Says:

    Obviously.

  3. K Says:

    Please to note the big issue with having your own bridal photo already in there at the reception, instead of the standard “Bridal Bird and Cocky Groom” (hee hee) date placard:

    You’d have to have already had your bridal photos taken, in full make-up and hair. Not happening.

  4. freckledk Says:

    I just flipped through a Godiva catalog and saw this:

    http://www.godiva.com/catalog/product.aspx?id=1304&SE_Section=Shop&SE_Category=43

  5. Bridal Bird Says:

    K-Excellent point.

    Freckled K-I saw those this morning! I snorted at the price.

Leave a Reply

