Ugh

Did you hear it? At 6 p.m. yesterday? It was the sound of me becoming “That Bride.” The one who has a wedding website. Trust me, no one is more nauseated with me than I am. Practicality won out, though. (Don’t have to keep sending out info about events, hotels, etc.) And within 30 seconds of deciding to set one up, I broke my first rule and that was to not pay for the darn thing. But I quickly discovered that freebie wedding sites require either putting up a page with the visual panache of the Glades Correctional Facility weekly menu web page, or you have to be willing to have “Create Your Own Zwinky!” flash atop the details of your journey to holy matrimony. I forked over $32.50 for the year.

So there it is. My dignity costs exactly $32.50.

6 Responses to “Ugh”

  1. I-66 Says:

    Dammit. I had $45.07 in the office pool. What the hell, Bird?

    And really? What the crap is a Zwinky?

  2. Bridal Bird Says:

    Well there are a few Martha Stewart Wedding magazines that may or may not be floating around my house. And they probably total the $12.57 difference.

    From what I’ve inferred, a Zwinky is an avatar that renders adult females into animated, kitten-eyed, large-breasted, pre-Kevin Britney clones.

  3. Johanna Says:

    (hand outstretched, looking away) Please, don’t even say “pre-Kevin Britney” — it’s just too painful to think about.

  4. Heather B. Says:

    Just embrace it.

  5. Eric Says:

    Isn’t this kind of already a wedding website?

  6. Bridal Bird Says:

    No, no, this is a blog. A wedding website is even more self-indulgent. You put up photo galleries of yourself, or quizzes about how you and your husband-to-be met, replete with ridiculous nicknames. I mean you do if you’re anyone but me. Mine will have directions to the church and reception.

Leave a Reply

