T Minus One

cal.jpg

Exactly one year from today I will be getting married. I suppose it’s a leap year, as this year Oct. 25 falls on a Thursday and next year it’s a Saturday. Is that a good omen? Who’s to say?

Here’s a good omen: I had not realized that the one-year-out mark was approaching. My fiancé did. He asked me on Monday night if I had any plans for Thursday. I did, but they could be re-arranged if necessary. Why? I asked. “Because it’s our negative-one year anniversary and I thought I’d take you to dinner.” Knock me over with a feather. Then last night he tells me that he made reservations for a terribly romantic restaurant in Dupont.

I do. I do. I do.

17 Responses to “T Minus One”

  1. I-66 Says:

    The -1st anniversary. That’s the “air” anniversary, right? In that case, happy anniversary.

  2. Diana Getzer Says:

    Why going to a restaurant? There is nothing more romantic than cooking a romantic dinner at home. There are plenty of possibilities to make that dinner unforgettable.

  3. Bridal Bird Says:

    Thanks I-66!

    Diana-Because he doesn’t cook and I cook dinner every other night. (Happily, mind you, because I love to cook. But still, we’re foodies and love going out.)
    Also, fyi, a lot of the ingredients on the recipes that you link to are out of season, which means that the environmental cost of jet transporting them into this area (not to mention that out of season = sapped of flavor by the time it gets to consumers) is highly undesireable.

  4. Jess Says:

    That’s so cute! Our negative-one-year anniversary is next Thursday. You and I are getting married only a week apart! Are you getting married in DC, too?

  5. Johanna Says:

    Since I now have nothing to do tonight (hmpf), could I come with y’all? I promise I won’t order an appetizer or cite depressing marriage statistics. No really, this time I *mean* it.

    sincerely,
    former Thursday plans

  6. sparklepirate Says:

    We celebrated our pre-nniversary by eating dinner at the same place where we’re getting married. That’s one of the bonuses of having the wedding at a restaurant (that’s been in business for over 70 years, so there’s a slim chance of it folding at this point) — you can keep going back for anniversaries, birthdays, all that fun stuff.

  7. startingtoday Says:

    That’s the sweetest thing! You’ve got a real catch, there! I’m such a girly girl – that post got me all teary!

  8. Bridal Bird Says:

    Jess-Yep, we’re getting married here, too. I’m sure we’ll both have our fingers crossed that things will be slightly more “fall picturesque” than they are right now.

    J-Mmm, I don’t know about that. Last time the pie charts and video testimonials from unhappily married men and women were really a buzzkill. How about you and Monte wait in the car and we’ll send out a doggie bag?

    SP-Oh, that is a good idea!

    ST-He is wonderful. Ah-greed. 🙂

  9. Romantic comment for 2 Says:

    Am I evil? I can’t stop laughing at the “romantic” recipes. Lamb stew? Tortilla chips? Seriously, “Romantic Apple Pie?”

  10. I-66 Says:

    Doggie bag.

    Har har.

  11. K Says:

    Groomal Bird is so romantic, isn’t he?

  12. sparklepirate Says:

    I would think that any recipe that doesn’t leave me feeling bloated, gassy or sluggish would qualify as a romantic – or at least having romantic potential. Other than that, eh.

  13. etcetera Says:

    GROOMAL BIRD FTW!!!!!!!!!11!!!

    (both the name and the man.)

  14. janet Says:

    I think it’s a good date. One year ago today I got married in the Arlington courthouse. Of course, our wedding was 2 weeks later, but according to all legal records, today was our anniversary!

  15. I-66 Says:

    Is “groomal” even the adjective for groom? If it isn’t, etcetera owes me a beer.

  16. jess Says:

    what a sweet guy! and very sweet of you to give him recognition to the masses 🙂 happy t-minus to you both!

  17. Randi Says:

    Oct 25 is my anniversary. Maybe I am biased but it’s the best date of ANY year to get married. Best of luck for a fabulous wedding and many happy years together.

Leave a Reply

