Ho, Ho, Holy Crap What a Couple of Weeks

Despite the best of intentions, when the holidays include hosting one’s future in-laws for 10 days while juggling my own family and the regular holiday insanity, the blogging goes out the window. I’m going to assume everyone found a way to soldier on, mainly by shedding crocodile tears into their nog.

Some wedding-related developments:

1. tabard2.jpg
My future in-laws selected The Tabard Inn for the rehearsal dinner. This is very cool because we both dig the place .

2. savedates.jpg
I realized that my decision a while back to use vintage D.C. postcards for the save-the-date cards, and to handwrite them for a nice authentic touch, meant that at some point I was going to have to sit down and actually handwrite them for a nice authentic touch. Poor planning on my part.

3. I realized the other night that once the calendar flips on Tuesday, I’m going to be able to say I’m getting married “this” year, rather than “next” year. For some reason that struck me as significant. Then I went and had some nog.

7 Responses to “Ho, Ho, Holy Crap What a Couple of Weeks”

  1. I-66 Says:

    I actually went into a coma in your absence. I came to when a little kid got loose in the hospital and came into my room and kicked me in the nuts, but the doctors are crediting your blog post as the real reason.

  2. jess Says:

    Mmmmnog.

    The Tabard Inn is lovely! (Not to deny the power of BBQ.) They have these awesome doughnuts with real whipped cream at brunch… I got distracted by writing ‘whipped’ ‘cream’…. I’m really not responsibly thinking at this point on a Friday.

  3. Abi Says:

    Great, I forgot about that whole rehearsal dinner thing. I guess I should probably get some sort of wedding-planner thing so that I have a list of everything that’s involved.

    Or I’ll just download an excel spreadsheet. That’s really more my style.

  4. Bridal Bird Says:

    I-66–I know. I got the “Save 66” flyer and saw the blimp pass over my house.

    Jess–The donuts are to die for, aren’t they? And I love dinner there.

    Abi–Oh, but that’s the best part: Rehearsal dinners are totally the in-laws’ responsibility. 99% worry free for the bride, hopefully. I am all about being an Excel bride.

  5. Heather B. Says:

    I am so not surprised that you and Abi are both excel spreadsheet brides. A far cry from how I will presumably be when I get married which would be a “Hmm, tablecloths, you say?” bride.

    Happy Wedding Year! Yay!

  6. rcr Says:

    Hey, isn’t it Why the Terrorists Hate Weddings Friday? No post? What are you “working” or something?

  7. etcetera Says:

    please say they’re still driving the bbq smoker east for the sunday brunch. please?

Leave a Reply

