Awwww…The Feds Got Us an Engagment Present!

image2687031g.jpg

And I thought they’d be miffed because they didn’t make the tight guest list. Silly me. We’ll be using that puppy for airfare to Ireland. Thanks Unkie Legislators!

I’m not going to think about how clearly the poor got screwed for this, or the fact that we’re spending $10 billion a month on the war means we certainly can’t afford it. [Update: Or as my fiancé said: “Or the fact that the checks will arrive shortly before a presidential election and they’re trying to buy our vote.”] Whatevs! In fact, I’m going to use the first $20 of it to buy a tasty Guinness while I’m over there and I’ll drink the doubt away!
[Cue the economic policy wonks rushing to the comments to point out why this money has nothing to do with either of those things…3, 2, 1, now. They’re so adorable when they get their bowties all in a bunch.]

8 Responses to “Awwww…The Feds Got Us an Engagment Present!”

  1. I-66 Says:

    I hope you get more than 1 Guiness for $20. I know the dollar is down, but it can’t be that down.

  2. Bridal Bird Says:

    Based on the dollar being worth about two Shake ‘n Bake coupons and a square of toilet paper internationally right now I figured that $20 was a safe bet.

  3. rcr Says:

    So you’re going to take the economic stimulus money our federal government gave you and pump it into the economy of a foreign country? Buy a Budweiser!

  4. Bridal Bird Says:

    Would it mollify you if I bought the Guinness but bellowed “U-S-A! U-S-A!” when the barkeep handed it to me?
    In any case, the bulk of that 12 hundy will be going to the most patriotic of institutions: US Airways.

  5. Gordon Gekko Says:

    I’ll bet a certain Electronics chain will see a rise in the price of their stock, due to all those flat-screen TV purchases that will be made.

  6. Lemmonex Says:

    Please bellow “U-S-A” and wear your “I heart George Bush” while saying it.

    And I feel your pain. I always feel like I become a Republican for about 10 minutes after I get my tax refund every year. (Kinda) free money but not really at all…wheeee!

  7. Johanna Says:

    I guess I know who’s buying me brunch on Sunday. Does your sudden change of party now mean I can now openly bring up my crush on Bill Kristol?

  8. Bridal Bird Says:

    Lemmonex-Little known fact: back in the day the Bird was a Republican and had a George Bush magnet on her fridge. No joke.

    Johanna-Crush on Bill Kristol? I’m not even going to be able to eat at brunch now. (And no, of course I’m still making you pay, silly goose.) What is it about Kristol anyway? His battin’ .000 on the war? I suppose that could make him endearing in an underdog sort of way…

Leave a Reply

