Confessions of a Domestic Cover Artist

chef.jpg

D.H. Lawrence once said “The human body needs actual beauty more than bread.” Respectfully, Lawrence had no way of knowing that the human body could find both in my father’s caramel pecan rolls. Technically, they’re Betty Crocker’s caramel pecan rolls, but to leave the praise at her doorstep is like pretending that Jimi Hendrix didn’t come along and obliterate Dylan’s “All Along the Watchtower.” I’m still young and not as experienced at them as my father, so I’m hovering in Dave Matthews/U2 “AAtW” territory. Which is to say, mine are still pretty darn good, if I do say so myself. Which I just did. As promised last week, I present the recipe for the aforementioned beauties. If you ever eat one, I wager you’d rather have a lifetime of what’s below than a lifetime of what’s above. At least that’s what I’m banking on while waiting nervously to hear my fiancé actually say “I do.”

stickybuns.jpg

Recipe is here. It’s not flour-covered and marked with my father’s handwritten notes, but it still makes the same roll.

2 Responses to “Confessions of a Domestic Cover Artist”

  1. I-66 Says:

    Ahem. I am still awaiting mine.

  2. Nadine Says:

    Thanks for this-I will definitely put it to good use.

Leave a Reply

