Ye Olde Marriage

I’ve been obsessing for the last couple of months over the soul-kissing awesomeness that is John Adams on HBO. However, my pointless pilgrimage to Pennsylvania last week meant that I ended up getting behind. Over the last two nights, I watched the final two episodes of the smartest mini-series ever made. (It’s science.) But you can imagine my horror to learn that John and Abigail Adams were actually parted by death. And what a death scene. He’s broken by grief, cuddling next to her in her sick bed, kissing her face streaked with their tears, begging her to hold on, pointing out the hydrangeas he brought her in a vase (note to fiancé: imminent death not a requirement for bestowing flowers.) I was curled up in my fiancé’s lap watching it and I am quite certain that I saw a little eye rubbing up above me, although it was hard to tell over my indelicate sobbing.

It should be said that the Bird does not cry at movies. Documentaries about war or a suffering people, maybe. The final scene in Love Actually when The Beach Boys’ “God Only Knows” is playing and everyone’s hugging at the airport, yes. And the scene in Grosse Pointe Blank where John Cusack holds up the baby and has his swift spiritual kick upside the head. And pretty much every minute of The Bicycle Thief. But other than that, I do not cry at movies.

However, being engaged is softening my resistance. Watching couples like John and Abigail Adams say goodbye suddenly starts hitting too close to home. I begin doing the math in my head: fiancé is 11 years older than I am…women typically live longer than men…BLURG! Every time I watch a movie now I find myself pondering the timeworn, “Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all,” question. Is this normal? I don’t know. But I do know what the antidote is: Titanic or The English Patient. Because oddly enough, I find the endings of both of those flicks hi-larious.

UPDATE: My fiancé asserts that he was most definitely not tearing up. He was making a lasagna…for one. Muh huh.

9 Responses to “Ye Olde Marriage”

  1. I-66 Says:

    What the?

    This has entirely shattered my image of the Bird as a hardened avian meanie, incapable of feeling and fueled by snarky rage. What is this world coming to?

  2. Jo Says:

    OMG, I was obsessed with this series. SO GOOD.

    The part where he’s crying and saying “my friend” had me really choked up. Even Nick was on the verge of tears by that scene.

  3. Bridal Bird Says:

    I-66-True. After I cry on such occasions I go out and punch an orphan just to even things out.

    Jo-I know. I know. That and then when he’s standing outside just staring at the field and contemplating why God would put her on the planet just to take her away again. (clutching heart)

  4. Pop Cesspool Says:

    I can’t get past the idea that in real life, Laura Linney would probably never go for a schmo like Paul Giamatti, no matter how noble or talented he might be.

  5. Johanna Says:

    I’m with I-66 on this one. Crying implies a soul, and as you know…well, I don’t really need to say it again, do I?

  6. K Says:

    I have to say, Bird, I had the same experience when I got married. I can watch movies where one of the couple dies tragically, but if you show old people dying, I lose it. It’s hard to see people who have spent a lifetime together be separated.

    Similarly, during our engagement, I turned into a worrysome wreck. If he was 2 minutes late from work, I decided he was dead on the side of the road. It just seemed like our happiness could so easily be shattered. I got over it, though!

  7. Phil Says:

    I cried when ‘Scarface’ had that mountain of cocaine on his desk.

  8. What Liz Said Says:

    I JUST got into this two days ago and I only have two more episodes to go. I adore it.

    “It should be said that the Bird does not cry at movies. Documentaries about war or a suffering people, maybe. The final scene in Love Actually when The Beach Boys’ “God Only Knows” is playing and everyone’s hugging at the airport, yes. And the scene in Grosse Pointe Blank where John Cusack holds up the baby and has his swift spiritual kick upside the head. And pretty much every minute of The Bicycle Thief. But other than that, I do not cry at movies.”

    Ahaha, that sounds like me.

  9. Lisa Says:

    Love Actually gets me every single time. That end scene.

Leave a Reply

