Falling slowly, eyes that know me/and I can’t go back.

My fiancé and I have a tradition in the few seconds before a movie is about to start at the theater. We turn to each other, make a setting-the-bar-low hand motion and mouth “low expectations.” It’s a silly thing that we do to try to avoid being too disappointed by the typically crudtastic movies released these days. Per usual, we did that last year as the lights were going down for indie flick Once. And within 10 minutes we were both tearing up. (I’m sorry, I was tearing up. He was just trying to get something out of his eyes.) It was the scene in which Guy and Girl–the lead characters’ roles are unnamed–sing together for the first time at a borrowed piano in a music store. I asked him later about his reaction and he said, “It was beautiful,” before adding, “They reminded me of us. Her walking along with her little vacuum cleaner, and then she shakes his life up and makes it better. You did that for me.”

That’ll do. For eternity.

Tomorrow night, we’re heading to the Meyerhoff in Baltimore to see the film’s stars, Irish singers Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova, who perform together as The Swell Season. It will be a nice preview of sorts to our Ireland honeymoon, which kicks off with four days in Dublin, where the movie takes place. And our married life together in general.

No need for the low expectations hand motion this time.

5 Responses to “Falling slowly, eyes that know me/and I can’t go back.”

  1. Shannon Says:

    I’ll be there, too! Should be a good show.

  2. I-66 Says:

    Damned movie theaters… Always so dusty.

  3. Bridal Bird Says:

    Shannon—Say hi if you see me! (curly redhead with the tall sandy blonde Texan. Trust me, you’ll just know). I think we’re orchestra on the left side if you’re facing the stage. And I’ll just look for the disaffected scanner jockey.

    I-66—Quite right. Wretched places.

  4. Shannon Says:

    Just look for the demented lovechild of Jennifer Jason Leigh and Juliette Lewis, and that’s me!

  5. Jane Says:

    I loved that movie, too!

Leave a Reply

