Surf & Turf

This afternoon I ducked out of work to join my fiancé and parents at the Hay-Adams for what is inarguably the greatest part of the wedding planning process: the menu and cake tasting. It was a far cry from my typical lunch, which lately thanks to Election ’08, is a bag of pretzels, polling data, and gut-wrenching anxiety. After much nibbling, debate and mind-changing in the pretzel-free serenity of the Hay-Adams’ Lafayette Room, we settled on the following menu:

Cocktail Reception Hors D’Oeuvres
Individual Chilled Jumbo Shrimp with Cocktail Sauce, Grape and Roquefort Truffle Rolled in Pistachios, Scallop Wrapped with Pancetta, Wild Mushroom Beggar’s Purse, Panko-Crusted Prawns with Spicy Chili Aioli

Preludes
Demitasse of Lobster Bisque with Cognac and Brunoise of Lobster
Mixed Field Greens with a Crouton of Local Goat Cheese with Shallot Vinaigrette

Entree
Combination of Petite Fillet Mignon Paired with Sea Bass Fillet on Sautéed Fennel and Chives, Pommes Dauphinois and Haricots Verts

Dessert
Fresh Fruit Dipped in Chocolate
White Chocolate Cake with Key Lime Mousse and Buttercream Frosting
Chocolate Groom’s Cake in Some Sort of Silly Shape (More on that at a future date)

Cake design (minus the bow and the monogram)

Now I need to get back to my breakfast, which thanks to Election ’08 is two Pepto Bismal capsules and the Examiner and Post op-ed sections viewed through a wince.

13 Responses to “Surf & Turf”

  1. Mary Ellen Says:

    Yum! Yum!

  2. I-66 Says:

    Please to provide shrimp and scallops in a doggie bag out back of the Hay-Adams so that I may pick it up without interrupting proceedings. Thank you and goodnight.

  3. Bridal Bird Says:

    ME-I hope so!

    I-66-That would certainly go a long way toward preventing what I feared might happen: you rappelling down the side of the building a la The Great Muppet Caper.

  4. K Says:

    I find this menu THRILLING. V and I will almost certainly share entrees – him filet, me fish, natch.

    But I am a little worried for you, as it doesn’t sound like J got to join, and… (gulp)

  5. Evy Says:

    Your reception sounds lovely. As a bit of a side gripe, my future mother-in-law visited the site of my reception this past weekend and, for two days, the woman didn’t say a word. My true-love’s heartfelt response in the face of my fairly crushed feelings? “Well, she didn’t say anything mean!” No…I guess not…
    But congrats to you!!

  6. freckledk Says:

    I just watched an episode of Bridezillas, where the bride asked the cake designer if the groom’s cake could be shaped like a vagina because, and I quote, “It’s the last piece he’ll be getting.”

  7. Johanna Says:

    Seriously, everything sounds so good that I’ll overlook the fact that you didn’t even mention how I was pressed up against the window of said Lafayette Room urging you to pick the beggar’s purse. And spicy chili aioli? Um, yes please.

    Color me indulgent on October 25th!

  8. Nadine Says:

    That cake sounds and looks awesome.

  9. Bridal Bird Says:

    K-Actually you both get both. It’s the pou pou platter of fine dining! Yes, she seemed upset. Based on the dirty looks she was shooting me through the window.

    Evy-Thank you, and oh no! Unless you’re getting married in like, an S&Mclub or a sewer this is completely inappropriate behavior. (Not that there’s anything wrong with getting married in an S&M club or a sewer. I just think it would be very hard for a mother-in-law to muster a kind word about either of those locations.)

    FK-Johanna was just telling me about that episode! What I like about that cake is that it’s both unclassy and disgusting looking. (eyeroll)

    J-Well it wasn’t really too awkward until security came and you started yelling something about lime mousse. And Jack Donaghy.

    N-Thank you! At the tasting you get these little undecorated slices, so I’ll have to hope for the best on the looks on the actual day, but the taste I can very much vouch for.

  10. Phil Says:

    hmm – big mistake. Lot’s of fancy dishes that folks can hardly pronounce?

    You should have gone with something simple and delicious, like Starvin Marvin’s pizza.

  11. Bridal Bird Says:

    Well, essentially the menu is:
    Shrimp, other stuff wrapped in dough
    Soup and Salad
    Piece of beef, piece of fish, green beans, potatoes
    Cake

    But things like “pommes dauphinois” just looks better printed all curlyqued on a menu.

    Make it Manny&Olga’s pizza and you’ve got a deal.

  12. Phil Says:

    Or, if you agree to deep-fry everything you just mentioned, maybe I’d give it my stamp of approval. (yes, even the cake).

  13. etcetera Says:

    OMGZ! i have not heard of nor can i pronounce half the things on this menu. that is a sure sign that it must be good eatin. if you’re secretly hoping to get a few “sorry we can’t make it”s back from your invites, do note let them know what they will be missing!

Leave a Reply

