Fair and Balanced Bridal Bird Convention Coverage

I am in Minneapolis/St. Paul.

There are a bunch of Republicans here. Not, however, “packing” the Xcel Center as Fox News has been claiming (unless one-fifth of the delegates are so white that they’ve been rendered invisible).

A Republican female senator (governor? I knew she was someone but couldn’t remember who) asked me how I cover a convention in 4 1/2 inch heels. “Very carefully,” I replied. House Minority Leader John Boehner said I have good hair. “I see, well, thank you,” I replied.

I have 48 more hours.

10 Responses to “Fair and Balanced Bridal Bird Convention Coverage”

  1. I-66 Says:

    Pleeeeease tell me that Boehner pronounces his name… um… you know.

  2. Julie Says:

    Do you think that’s how they picked Palin… good hair and cute shoes?

  3. Nina Says:

    Er. Try to make the best of it.

  4. Jess Says:

    I feel for you. I’m conservative–but I get the same treatment from covering Dems in my state. (There are pretty well no Repubs to speak of in Illinois so I can’t vouch for them.)

    I always want to say, “You know, I’m the one doing the retouching. You sure you want to talk down to me?”

    I think it’s an age thing. If we were 60 I doubt they’d sass. To our (cute) faces. ๐Ÿ™‚

    In other news, that is a whole heck of a lot of balloons up there. Geez.

  5. suicide_blond Says:

    awww sugar….
    thanks ever so much..for …you know…taking one for the team…
    xoxo

  6. Phil Says:

    There could not be a bigger collection of stiff whities (probably figuratively and literally) than in Minn. @ a republican convention.

  7. J. Says:

    Was that you in the pink satin dress getting hauled out of the arena last night – about partway through McCain’s speech? You do have nice hair!

    (Totally kidding! I couldn’t resist.) ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Sadie Says:

    When searching for the phone no. of a dermatologist “Shannon Heck”, I happened upon your page by accident. After reading some of your comments, I am not at all surprised that you were not taken seriously at the convention. By the way, should I take seriously your comment about voter fraud in Greenville, NC?

  9. Bridal Bird Says:

    Well technically, sugarbuns, I didn’t say voter fraud. I said FEC violation. But I’m guessing I’m wasting my time with nuance. Pity, that. And who said I wasn’t taken seriously at the convention? Trust me, I was taken as seriously as a heart attack. Those people love their heels and hair. Now, if you don’t understand the meaning of “tongue in cheek,” you should take it seriously. Wait, perhaps that was too subtle. No, dear, you shouldn’t take it seriously. Although I appreciate that there are still those gentle souls out there who think that anyone in 2008 would actually, genuinely advertise that they were going to break the law on a blog. It gives me Hope. It gives me Hope that this is going to be an easier election than I thought.

  10. Hammer Says:

    Uh oh. Sadie got “sugarbunned.”

    An ominous portent to be sure.

Leave a Reply

