Freakout in 3, 2, 1…

Twenty-three days.

Do you have any idea how much I have to do in the next 23 days? What was I thinking leaving for nearly two months for the campaign to return only 35 days before my wedding? Why in the name of Jennifer Love Hewitt didn’t any of you step in and say, “Um, hey, Bridal Bird, I was thinking about it and it turns out…you’re an idiot.” Now it’s midnight and I should be stuffing welcome bags, prepping itineraries, getting my shoes dyed, scheduling a facial and a massage, figuring out what in the heck kind of earrings I’m going to wear, and brushing up on my waltz (why did we pick a waltz for our first dance?!), etc., etc. All this to do here in D.C., yet on Friday I’ve got to go up to New York for a dress fitting. And instead of tackling some of the list now, I’m sitting here watching the Sox-Angels game and stalling on going back through the kitchen because there’s a mouse in there. No foolies. Saw him earlier tonight. The wheels have come off the trolley at wedding central.

Never mind, I am going in the kitchen, to get a beer. I need a beer. Maybe the mouse will accept a beer in exchange for tying the ribbons on the giftbags.

13 Responses to “Freakout in 3, 2, 1…”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Ooooh, what kind of waltz, Vienna or box step?
    And aren’t there bridesmaids or close female friends who are supposed to be stuffing welcome bags with/for you?

  2. I-66 Says:

    Why in the name of Jennifer Love Hewitt didn’t any of you step in and say, “Um, hey, Bridal Bird, I was thinking about it and it turns out…you’re an idiot.”

    I thought that was public knowledge.

  3. Bridal Bird Says:

    Michelle – Neither: Willie Nelson, “I’ve Loved You All Over the World.” I have no idea what sort of waltz that requires. Agggh!
    Oh they will be recruited, oh yes.

    I-66 – Hardy har har. Jerkface.

  4. etcetera Says:

    k and i are still available for gift-bag delivery. i am also available for dog sitting, cookie batter eating/making, and other errands. i’m serious. take me up on it, or else you’ll have to modify this post to read: “why in the name of jennifer love hewitt did i not accept etcetera’s offers of assistance?” am i right or am i right? hang in there, birthdaybridalbird. we got yer back. xoxo

  5. Arjewtino Says:

    I thought about warning you but then I got distracted by something shiny.

  6. Phil Says:

    “Dying (your) shoes”? Thank God I am not a woman — you guys go through more crap to get married.

    Also, when you sit and think about it, Cinderella sure did live amongst quite a bit of filth, what with teeming rodents and birds all over the place…it’s a wonder she didn’t die of some transmitted disease prior to meeting the Prince.

  7. Nadine Says:

    If you need help with cookie baking from afar(seriously I’ll bake ’em and ship ’em out) let me know.

  8. Hammer Says:

    Clone yourself. It’s not as bad as you think. Or as difficult.

  9. Mary Ellen Says:

    Whine, whine, whine…You’d think you were busy or something.

  10. Mary Ellen Says:

    Isn’t Dakota any help at all??
    P.S. Waltzing’s for dreamers and losers in love.

  11. Bridal Bird Says:

    Etc.-Totally taking you up on the offer. Trust. You’ll be getting your instruction packet and NOC list soon. 😉

    Arjewtino-It’s OK, it happ–ooh, a butterfly!

    Phil-My Lady Manual tells me I’m supposed to bleat something about childbirth, at you too, at this point but honestly I don’t even have the energy. And yes, Cinderella did not keep a tidy house, contrary to popular opinion.

    Nadine-I am reserving the right to accept your outsourcing offer.

    Hammer-So I hear. So does Blog BridalBird.

    Mary Ellen-Watch it, lady, or you’ll be up at 1 a.m. with me counting chocolate chips to ensure even distribution so as not to slight the bride or the groom’s family!

  12. Nadine Says:

    Well, I did encourage you in the first place, so it seems only fair. Besides I like to bake.

  13. And Now a Word From the Mouses. I Mean Missus. « Bridal Bird Says:

    […] was no doubt the same rodent who skulked around uninvited in my kitchen in the run-up to the wedding, yet refused to help with the last-minute details. Yet with the […]

Leave a Reply

