When Only the Best Will Do

Yes, of course this is going to be our cake topper:

 

Were it not already a given, it certainly was when I hit the portion of the ad copy describing it as “funny but still elegant.” Apt description, as “elegant” is just what comes to mind when I see this. I believe Grace Kelly had the same one when she married Prince Rainier, but it featured a piece of Association Sportive de Monaco Football Club gear on it. 

A few more sneak peeks. 
Our new bedroom set:

 

Frankly, I’m a little disappointed that the lampshade is unadorned with the glorious A&M logo.

And our dishware, called to my attention by sorority sister Allie who wondered why in heaven’s name I hadn’t registered for this already:
 

We’ll be wanting a brand new set of course. This pic was pulled from a craigslist sale posting by one tbowdentigerluvr45@clemson.edu. The guy really had it priced to move. Zing!

11 Responses to “When Only the Best Will Do”

  1. Nadine Says:

    You are going to put touches of Clemson orange on the bride, right?

  2. I-66 Says:

    Wow, an AS Monaco reference. You really are a fan.

  3. RCR Says:

    I have the UVa version of the plate in the top middle.

  4. Mandy Says:

    As a fellow Clemson grad, I’ve been to quite a few Clemson weddings. The most recent featured the bride and groom entering the reception hall with the announcement of their names, (Please welcome Mr. and Mrs. so and so) and the band playing an extremely loud rendition of Tiger Rag.

    I know you’re just poking fun, but I do rather like those clemson plates!

    PS. Poor Tommy.

  5. Bridal Bird Says:

    Nadine- Oh, natch. Just kidding. Actual cake topper should arrive in a couple days. Muy traditional.

    I-66- Yes, well, everything I need to know about futbol for blog snark I learned from Wikipedia.

    RCR- You know what the next phase of alum fandom is, right? Old man cardigan in your school’s colors. As a woman, mine is required to have that exact image from the plate embroidered on the back of it.

    Mandy- My friends just did Eye of the Tiger which I thought was fun! And (looking furtively left to right) I’d totally use them for tailgating.

  6. Phil Says:

    ‘Dishware’? That’s fine china in Clemson…

    Request? Could you please select a coach who is not so fond of picking his own nose on the sideline? Viriginia accomplished this once Welsh retired.

    Please enjoy the ass kicking thou art about to receive on Saturday.

  7. Allie Says:

    Guess who’s leaving a little extra space in her suitcase this weekend for a potential wedding gift or two? Oh, and you thought you were getting my traditional, “congratulations on getting married, here’s a check” gift, didn’t you?

  8. Kyli Says:

    Oh god. My fiance is an Aggie too. We have (I kid you not) a maroon Aggie laundry bag that his grandmother made for us, and I was presented with a “maroon out” tee shirt at our engagement party. Your post is giving me flashbacks.

  9. Bridal Bird Says:

    Phil- You probably shouldn’t be so *Cavalier* about that game. Muhah. MuHAHAH. MUAHHAHAHAA! oh, I kill myself.

    Allie- I will invite you to my Clemson-pimped-out tailgate then.

    Kyli- Oh my God he even made you change your name to the feminine version of Kyle in honor of Kyle Field didn’t he?! 😉

  10. Nadine Says:

    For the record, I never that you’d use that. Also, real dishes for tailgating? Way too much work. of course, i went to a basketball school, so.

  11. etcetera Says:

    wait… are you REALLY using that as your cake topper? if so, awesome.

Leave a Reply

