Yes We Did.

obama1

16 Responses to “Yes We Did.”

  1. Arjewtino Says:

    Congrats to you and me and all of us.

  2. K Says:

    yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. suicide_blond Says:

    thanks for all your hard work…. for reals…
    xoxo

  4. Bridal Bird Says:

    Woohoo! My pleasure. It was a drop in the bucket compared to others but man it feels good today!

  5. Belle Says:

    I appreciate that there are people who believe in Obama, and that’s fine by me. You should believe in your candidate. I believed in mine, but we lost, so Obama is my President elect now. That simple.

    But you’re an intelligent woman, so let me ask a question.

    Why are other Obama supporters being rude and harassing towards me because I voted for McCain? Rude facebook messages, funny looks, general bad behavior. I’m trying to be a gracious loser, why are so many Obama supporters bent on being unfathomably bad winners?

  6. Bridal Bird Says:

    Belle – Really? I’ve only seen people joyful since last night. What Obama supporter would bother being rude to a McCain supporter now? Also, of the three things you mentioned (FB messages, “funny looks” and “general bad behavior”), I’ve got to say that two are pretty subjective. How can someone even tell by looking at you that you’re a McCain supporter, thus compelling them to give you a funny look? And I don’t know what your experience is but “so many” Obama supporters who have been “unfathomably bad” in just the eight hours since you went to bed and got up and went to work this morning? What the heck, specifically, happened to you. Sounds like you’re in a fairly unique and weird environment but your description is a little vague. Best of luck to you.

  7. RCR Says:

    Let me ask this question: why should one Obama supporter have to answer for some alleged “bad behavior” that s/he has not even witnessed and maybe did not even occur?

    It seems to me to be a very passive aggressive way to talk shit about Obamamania.

  8. Nadine Says:

    Dear Bird,
    Thank you so much for sharing your wedding present with the rest of us. We appreciate it.
    In Gratitude,
    Nadine

  9. RCR Says:

    btdubs,

    http://www.bustedtees.com/yeswedid

  10. Phil Says:

    I myself have been sensing some funny looks, albeit through this blog and not directly, from BB, and I would like her to answer for my suspicions.

  11. J. Says:

    I can’t speak for Belle, but perhaps she was talking about the months leading up to the election? Because that’s certainly what I experienced as a McCain supporter. I appreciate tactful political dialogue, and I occasionally posted comments on different blogs/forums with my opinions. You wouldn’t believe some of the things people said to me in response! Swearing at me was common, etc. This never happened here, Bird, and I’m thankful for that, but I just wanted to pipe up and let Belle know she wasn’t alone.

  12. Belle Says:

    I was sitting in Starbucks waiting for a friend, when she approached she said, “I’m sorry McCain lost, I know you liked him.” At that moment, someone waiting in line turned and with shock and is belief asked me why I would vote for that “moron”. Others in the shop then started snickering and giving me dirty looks.

    On the way to work, a total stranger asked if today was “The greatest day ever or what?” I told him that I it was nice to see people excited, but that I had voted for McCain. He called me a dirty name and walked off.

    I’ve also received angry facebook messages from acquaintances and strangers. (forgot to take down my vote McCain status)

    I admit that most people are just too happy to care, and that’s cool with me. But about a dozen people haven’t been so understanding.

  13. Brian Says:

    To Belle and J: As an Obama supporter is disappoints me to hear that happened. It’s shameful and unfortunate.

    Having spent this week in North Carolina and rural Virginia, I can tell you that it’s coming both ways. In 24 hours, I’ve heard jokes about watermelon patches replacing the Rose Garden about 10 times and that Obama has ordered white people to register for cotton-picking a similar number of times. I had one guy tell me that second “joke” while I was buying a newspaper and wearing an Obama DNConvention shirt.

    Now, I don’t think for a moment that all McCain supporters are repugnant racists like the folks telling those jokes. You two, for example, have made your way to this forum, which shows you have uncommon intelligence and good taste!

    What I do think is that there is a lot of bitterness from a closely contested election in a very divided nation. The winner may have received 63 million votes, but the defeated candidate won 56 million. While I may disagree with those folks and oppose their vision for the country, I also understand that the immense challenges now facing us will require the determined effort and energy of all Americans. That was a central point made by Obama in his acceptance address on Tuesday, and a view shared by McCain in his concession and his letter to supporters this week. One can only hope that the people devoted to these two candidates over the past 24 months will listen to them now, set aside the pettiness of politics and look forward to tackling the massive challenges that face the country.

  14. etcetera Says:

    the last time i was this emotional about politics, the emotion was “livid.” it’s so nice to experious the joyous and optimistic side for once.

  15. Lena Says:

    wow, double congrats to ya, on the wedding and on your lovely first family. i envy you, bird, for being in the front seat during this historic moment.

  16. mag atieno Says:

    Fast forward 2011…… Yes we are doing it

Leave a Reply

